Steering Committee

NOTICE: ETPLAS AGM 13 March 2017

A Steering Committee, with balanced stakeholder representation from Members States’ Competent Authorities, training providers and accrediting bodies, coordinates the activities of ETPLAS according to its Constitution. The Platform is independent of the European Commission but, as an Observer to its National Contacts Points meeting, reports regularly to this forum to share its progress and plans for the future.

The Steering Committee, made up entirely of volunteers, nominally consists of ten Steering Committee members who are representatives of the stakeholder community listed above. Steering Committee members are appointed for a period of three years. Up to two additional Steering Committee members may be co-opted onto the Steering Committee at its discretion.

The Steering Committee has at least five Officers who are appointed for a period of three years. Officers and Steering Committee members may be re-appointed on one occasion to serve a further three year period of office.

The Officers’ roles are as follows:

  • Chair, who shall chair both general and committee meetings
  • Vice-Chair, who shall deputise in the absence of the Chair and may undertake additional duties
  • Secretary, who shall be responsible for the taking of minutes, the distribution of all papers and the keeping of records of stakeholders
  • Treasurer who shall be responsible for maintaining accounts
  • Website coordinator who shall be responsible for uploading information to the website

The Steering Committee aims to have good geographic representation of Member States but in order to enlarge its footprint it relies on feedback from the Reference Group during preparation and review of documents. The Steering Committee conducts its business electronically and by regular teleconferencing. The Annual General Meeting may be held as a face-to-face meeting.

Current composition

The Steering Group is currently comprised of nine members from the following Member States: Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.

Of these five are experts designated by their Member States, four are both course providers and experts designated by their Member States, four are accrediting body representatives three of which are also training providers with the final member representing a national consortium of course providers.